The 5 best stock alert apps in 2026
·Updated ·11 min read
Key takeaways
- Five installable apps, checked 27 August 2026: Stock Alarm, Yahoo Finance, Stockplus, Guardfolio and Stocktwits. StockAlert.pro is the sixth product here and has no phone app at all.
- Widest triggers: Stock Alarm, the only app on the list that fires on an RSI limit, a MACD or moving-average cross, or a golden cross, and the only one that can phone you.
- Best free pick: Yahoo Finance, free on both stores with custom price triggers and news notifications. Note that it never states a percent-change trigger, so that column reads 'not stated' rather than yes.
- Only two of the six state a percent-change trigger in writing: Stock Alarm and StockAlert.pro. Stockplus supports both absolute and percent triggers. Guardfolio's percentages are allocation drift, not price. Stocktwits documents no alerting at all on any page we could read.
- Store price is not always the vendor's price. Yahoo Finance Gold is $39.95/mo on Yahoo's plans page and $49.95 as an in-app purchase; Stocktwits Edge is $22.95/mo on the site and $29.99 in the App Store, which also sells a $399.99 lifetime tier that has no web equivalent.
- Stock Alarm publishes three different price lists on three of its own surfaces: Gold $19.99/mo and Pro $44/mo on stockalarm.io/membership, Pro $168.00/year on app.stockalarm.io/pricing, and Bronze through Gold from $4.99 to $164.99 in the App Store. We quote all three rather than pick one.
- Two free tiers are claimed with no published limit: Stock Alarm's FAQ says 'a free tier for basic usage' and Yahoo's plans page prints no $0 tier. StockAlert.pro prints '$0/month, up to 5 active alerts'; Stockplus allows 3 price alerts and 1 keyword alert free.
- Stockplus (our app) is placed third of five. Its check runs server-side on a one-minute cycle and Pro is $3.99/month, but it has no technical triggers, no SMS and no phone call, and three live alerts on free is a real ceiling.
Five apps you can install and one web tool that outguns most of them, judged on one job: telling you a threshold you chose has been crossed, while your phone is in your pocket. Stock Alarm has the widest triggers, Yahoo Finance is the free pick that covers everything, and only two of the six support a percent-change trigger the vendor will actually put in writing. Checked August 27, 2026.
The short answer
If your alert is a plain number on a well-known ticker, install Yahoo Finance and stop reading: it is free, it covers everything, and it pushes. If your alert is a rule rather than a number, an RSI limit or a moving-average cross, Stock Alarm is the only app here that can express it, and it will phone you if you want. If you want both trigger types with the day’s context attached and you would rather pay $3.99 than $19.99, that is us, and we are third for reasons stated below.
The most interesting product in this category is not an app at all. StockAlert.pro has 23 trigger types including sentiment and valuation rules that nothing on the ranked list can match, and a genuinely free tier. It has no phone app, its own answer to whether one is coming is “not yet”, and browser push only fires while a browser is running. That trade is the whole shape of this category.
What actually separates alert apps
Alerts are the most-claimed and least-differentiated feature in finance apps. Nearly every product here has them, so the criteria come before the list rather than being implied by it.
- It has to be an app. Everything in the ranked list has an App Store or Play listing we opened on the date shown, and the table records the title the store displayed rather than the brand name. One well-known alerting product failed that test and is in its own section below, because a browser notification is not a phone notification.
- What it can trigger on. Absolute price alerts are universal and tell you almost nothing about an app. Percent change is the first real dividing line, and technical triggers such as an RSI limit or a moving-average cross are the second. Percent change has its own column because vendors describe it loosely and it is the one people assume is there.
- Whether the check runs on a server. An alert evaluated on a server and delivered as push works whether or not the app is open. An alert evaluated on your device depends on background execution the operating system is free to suspend, which is the usual reason an alert arrives hours late or not at all.
- What the free tier actually allows. Alerting is usually free; the limit is how many you can keep live at once. That number, not the feature list, is what you will run into. Where a vendor claims a free tier but publishes no limits, the table says that instead of implying generosity.
- Whether the price is checkable, and consistent. Every figure carries the date we read it and a link to the page we read it from. This page adds a column the others do not: the store price against the vendor's own price. Two of the five differ, one of them by more than Apple's commission, and nobody comparing these apps mentions it.
- What we did not weigh. Whether the alert was a good idea. An alert reports that a threshold you chose was crossed. It carries no view on whether to buy or sell, and nothing here is investment advice.
The five apps compared
Figures checked August 27, 2026. Dimmed cells record a failure to check rather than a bad answer, and each entry below says exactly what happened when we tried, including the HTTP status where a vendor blocked us.
| App | Percent-change trigger | What it triggers on | How it reaches you | Free tier | Price | Platforms | Store price vs site price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Stock Alarm | Yes, stated by the vendor | Price limits, percent change, price change, SMA, EMA, MACD, RSI, golden and death cross, IPOs, earnings, plus economic signals | Push, phone call, SMS and email, with monthly quotas per channel | Yes, but undefined. The FAQ says “We have a free tier for basic usage” and no page states its limits | Vendor pages disagree. stockalarm.io/membership: Gold $19.99/mo, Pro $44/mo or $440/yr. app.stockalarm.io/pricing: Pro $168.00/year. App Store: Bronze $4.99/mo, Silver $9.99/mo, Gold $19.99/mo or $164.99/yr | iOS, Android and web | They disagree, and not only by Apple's markup. The App Store still sells Bronze and Silver tiers the website says it has stopped selling publicly |
| 2. Yahoo Finance | Not stated on any page we could read | Custom price triggers and news notifications | Push notifications, described as real-time alerts | Yes. Yahoo's help pages name a free plan, though the plans page itself prints no $0 tier and no free feature list | Bronze $7.95/mo billed $95.40 yearly, Silver $19.95/mo billed $239.40 yearly, Gold $39.95/mo billed $479.40 yearly | iOS, Android and web | Higher in the App Store: Bronze $9.95, Silver $24.95, Gold $49.95, against $7.95, $19.95 and $39.95 on Yahoo's own page |
| 3. StockplusOurs | Yes, stated by the vendor | Price above, price below, percent change above, percent change below, and a news keyword match. SEC filing alerts on Pro | Push, evaluated server-side on a one-minute cycle, so it does not depend on the app being open | Yes, 3 live price alerts and 1 keyword alert | Free; Pro $3.99/mo | iOS and Android, built mobile-first | The same. $3.99/mo is the price on both stores and on our site |
| 4. Guardfolio | No, and the vendor says so | Allocation drift, concentration limits, volatility, drawdown and expense-ratio changes. No price thresholds | Email and Telegram per the website. Push is not stated in words on either surface | None published. A 7-day free trial, no card required | Guardian Pro $24.99/mo or $187.49/yr. Guardian Elite $49/mo or $399/yr. Promotional rates of $19.99 and $39.20 a month were showing on the day | iOS, Android and web | Broadly aligned: App Store lists Pro $24.99 and $187.99, Elite $49.00 and $399.00 |
| 5. Stocktwits | Not stated on any page we could read | Not stated on any vendor page we could read | Not stated on any vendor page we could read | Yes. Play describes it as “a free app that offers optional in-app purchases”, with no $0 tier card on the subscriptions page | Ad Free $8.00/mo or $85.00/yr. Edge $22.95/mo or $229.50/yr. Enterprise is contact-only | iOS, Android and web | Materially higher in the App Store: Edge Monthly $29.99 and Edge Yearly $299.99, against $22.95 and $229.50 on the site, plus a $399.99 lifetime purchase that has no equivalent on the web |
The five, in detail
1. Dedicated alerting app
Stock Alarm
An app whose entire product is the alert: dozens of trigger types across 65,000 assets, delivered by push, phone call, text or email.
- Best at
- Trigger breadth, by a distance. Nothing else here fires on an RSI limit, a MACD cross, a moving-average cross or a golden cross, and nothing else here will phone you. If your alert is a rule rather than a number, this is the only app on the list that can express it.
- Bad at
- Telling you what it costs. Three of its own surfaces publish three different price lists, and none of them matches the other two. It is also the most expensive way here to set a plain price alert, if a plain price alert is all you want.
- Percent-change trigger
- Yes, stated by the vendor
- Price
- Vendor pages disagree. stockalarm.io/membership: Gold $19.99/mo, Pro $44/mo or $440/yr. app.stockalarm.io/pricing: Pro $168.00/year. App Store: Bronze $4.99/mo, Silver $9.99/mo, Gold $19.99/mo or $164.99/yr
Verified August 27, 2026
All three price lists were read on 27 August 2026 and all three are quoted above rather than reconciled, because reconciling them would mean picking one and presenting a guess as a fact. stockalarm.io/membership (HTTP 200) lists Gold at $19.99/mo with “Annual available in the app · free week to start”, and Pro at $44/mo or $440/yr described as two months free. app.stockalarm.io/pricing (HTTP 200) renders “PRO PLAN $168.00/year” with a “30% off” flag and a monthly toggle that does not change the figure, and adds “Existing Bronze and Silver members stay supported. New public pricing now centers on Pro.” The App Store listing at id1465535138 (Stock Alarm, LLC) discloses Bronze $4.99 and $53.99, Silver $9.99 and $95.99, Gold $19.99 and $164.99, and three Premium purchases. pro.stockalarm.io returned HTTP 429 to every attempt. Trigger types and delivery channels are quoted from the vendor's own descriptions.
2. Free market data portal with an app
Yahoo Finance
The default free finance app: quotes, news and watchlists for practically every listed company, with custom price triggers and news notifications on top.
- Best at
- Costing nothing and covering everything. Coverage is effectively total, alerts are included without subscribing, and for most people that combination ends the search. If you want one alert on one ticker, install this and stop reading.
- Bad at
- Precision, in two senses. The alert arrives inside an endless news feed, so nothing is summarised for you, and Yahoo's own description promises only “custom price triggers” with no mention of a percent-change trigger anywhere.
- Percent-change trigger
- Not stated on any page we could read
- Price
- Bronze $7.95/mo billed $95.40 yearly, Silver $19.95/mo billed $239.40 yearly, Gold $39.95/mo billed $479.40 yearly
Verified August 27, 2026
Read from finance.yahoo.com/about/plans/select-plan/ on 27 August 2026 (HTTP 200), reached after three plausible Yahoo pricing URLs returned 404: /subscriptions/, /about/promos/gold/ and /subscriptions/plans/. The tiers are Bronze, Silver and Gold, with a “Start 7 day free trial” and a footer reading “No contracts, cancel anytime. No hidden fees.” There is no “Yahoo Finance Plus” tier on the current page, so any comparison still using that name is out of date. Both store listings resolved. Alert wording is quoted from Yahoo: “Set custom price triggers and news notifications so you are immediately informed of pivots in the market or news affecting your watchlists.” Percent change is not mentioned, which is why the column says not stated rather than no.
3. Daily market-monitoring app
Our appStockplus
Our app: server-side price and percent-change alerts delivered by push, next to a watchlist, a morning AI briefing and congressional and insider filing feeds.
- Best at
- Both trigger types on a free tier, and context arriving with the alert. The check runs on our server every minute rather than on your phone, so nothing depends on the app being open or on the OS letting it wake up. Pro is $3.99 a month, the cheapest paid tier on this page by a wide margin.
- Bad at
- Breadth, in triggers and in coverage. There is nothing technical here: no RSI limit, no moving-average cross, no phone call, no SMS. Three live alerts on the free plan is a real ceiling, and Stock Alarm can express rules we simply cannot.
- Percent-change trigger
- Yes, stated by the vendor
- Price
- Free; Pro $3.99/mo
Verified August 27, 2026
This is our own product, so treat the row as a description rather than an independent check. The figures are the ones the server actually enforces rather than the ones our marketing would prefer: the free tier is 3 price alerts and 1 keyword alert, there is a hard ceiling of 200 alerts per account on any plan, and the checker runs on a one-minute schedule against a cached price with a staleness bound, so a very fast move can be reported a minute late. SEC filing alerts are Pro only. We are placed third of five because two apps above genuinely beat us: one on trigger breadth, one on being free and covering everything.
4. Portfolio-risk monitor
Guardfolio
An app that alerts on the shape of your portfolio rather than on the price of a stock: concentration, drift, drawdown and volatility crossing limits you set.
- Best at
- A question no price alert can answer. “Tell me when one position quietly becomes a third of my portfolio” is a genuinely useful alert and nothing else on this page will send it.
- Bad at
- Being a stock alert app, which it is not quite. The vendor says its alerts are sync-based rather than real-time price ticks, delivery is email and Telegram rather than push, and at $24.99 a month it is the most expensive entry here.
- Percent-change trigger
- No, and the vendor says so
- Price
- Guardian Pro $24.99/mo or $187.49/yr. Guardian Elite $49/mo or $399/yr. Promotional rates of $19.99 and $39.20 a month were showing on the day
Verified August 27, 2026
Read from guardfolio.ai on 27 August 2026, which 301s to www.guardfolio.ai (HTTP 200). Note that /pricing returns HTTP 404; the plan table is on the homepage. Both store listings resolved, seller Quantum Leap Alpha, LLC. The trigger description is the vendor's own: alerts fire when “concentration or drift crosses your limits”, and the site states explicitly that these are sync-based alerts when monitored thresholds change rather than real-time price ticks. That sentence is the reason this is fourth rather than first: it is an excellent product answering a different question. The percent column reads no rather than not stated because the vendor does describe percentage thresholds, but only for allocation drift, never for price.
5. Retail social sentiment network
Stocktwits
A social network for traders, where each ticker has a live message stream and a crowd-sourced bullish or bearish sentiment reading.
- Best at
- Understanding a move after it happens. When a ticker gaps and you want to know what retail thinks right now, nothing else here replaces a live ticker stream.
- Bad at
- The thing this page is about. We could not find alerting documented on any Stocktwits page we could read, and its own store descriptions list watchlists, sentiment, rooms, earnings and brokerage connect with no alert feature named at all. Listed because it is widely recommended for alerts, and the widely-recommended part is the bit we could not confirm.
- Percent-change trigger
- Not stated on any page we could read
- Price
- Ad Free $8.00/mo or $85.00/yr. Edge $22.95/mo or $229.50/yr. Enterprise is contact-only
Not fully verified August 27, 2026
The prices are solid; the alerting is not, and the two need separating. stocktwits.com/subscriptions returns HTTP 403 to automated requests and was read in a normal browser on 27 August 2026, showing Ad Free at $8.00/month or $85.00/year (from $96) and Edge at $22.95/month or $229.50/year (from $274.50), with “Save up to 16%”. Both store listings resolved. What we could not verify is the reason it is on this page: no page we read describes a price alert, a trigger, or a notification setting. Other comparisons, including our own /compare pages, record Stocktwits as having price alerts. It may well have them in the app. We are not going to assert a feature we could not find documented, and the honest answer is that this entry is the one to check yourself before installing on the strength of it.
The one with the best triggers, which is not an app
Worth its own section because on trigger breadth it beats everything above it, and because installing it is not an option.
| App | Percent-change trigger | What it triggers on | How it reaches you | Free tier | Price | Platforms | Store price vs site price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6. StockAlert.pro | Yes, stated by the vendor | 23 types: price thresholds, percentage changes, moving-average crossovers, RSI limits, volume shifts, Reddit and X sentiment, P/E and forward P/E, earnings, insider activity, dividend dates, time-based reminders | Email, browser push, SMS on the paid plan, and webhooks | Yes, $0/month with up to 5 active alerts and unlimited email | Basic $0/mo, Premium $19.99/mo, with yearly billing stated to save 17% | Web only. The vendor states a native mobile app is “not yet” | Not applicable, there is no store listing |
6. Web alerting service
Not an appStockAlert.pro
A web service built entirely around alerting, with 23 alert types including sentiment, valuation and insider-activity triggers, and no phone app at all.
No App Store or Play listing exists. It is a browser tool with email, SMS and browser push.
- Best at
- Trigger types you cannot get anywhere else on this page. P/E and forward P/E thresholds, Reddit and X sentiment shifts, insider activity, dividend ex-dates and volume shifts, on top of the usual price and percentage rules. The free tier is real: 5 active alerts and unlimited email at $0.
- Bad at
- Reaching your pocket. There is no iOS or Android app, the vendor's own answer to whether one exists is “not yet”, and browser push only works while a browser is running. SMS is capped at 50 a month and sits on the paid plan.
- Percent-change trigger
- Yes, stated by the vendor
- Price
- Basic $0/mo, Premium $19.99/mo, with yearly billing stated to save 17%
Verified August 27, 2026
Read from stockalert.pro on 27 August 2026 (HTTP 200). Note that /pricing returns HTTP 404; the plan table is on the homepage, listing Basic at $0/month with “Up to 5 active Price & Time alerts” and “Unlimited Email notifications”, and Premium at $19.99/month with 50 SMS alerts a month. The “23 alert types” figure and the list above are the vendor's own. There is no app: an iTunes search for the brand returns only unrelated products, the nearest being “Stock Alert - Realtime Alarms” from a different vendor called Stock Alert ApS, which is worth knowing if you go looking in the App Store for this one and install the wrong thing.
Two things nobody comparing these apps mentions
The store price is often not the vendor’s price
Subscribing inside the app and subscribing on the website are different prices at two of the five. Yahoo Finance Gold is $39.95 a month on Yahoo’s own plans page and $49.95 as an in-app purchase. Stocktwits Edge is $22.95 a month on the site and $29.99 in the App Store, and the store also sells a $399.99 lifetime purchase with no equivalent on the web. Neither gap is a scandal, both are ordinary commission arithmetic, and both are money you keep by opening a browser before you tap subscribe.
A free tier with no published limits is not a free tier yet
Two entries here claim a free tier and publish no ceiling for it. Stock Alarm’s FAQ says it has a free tier for basic usage and no page states how many alarms that allows. Yahoo names a free plan in its help pages and prints no $0 tier on the plans page at all. Compare that with StockAlert.pro, which prints “$0/month, up to 5 active alerts” on the page, and with our own three. The number is the thing you will actually hit, and a vendor that will not print it has told you something.
How to choose in one minute
- You want free, comprehensive and on both platforms: Yahoo Finance.
- Your alert is a technical rule, not a price: Stock Alarm, and read all three of its price lists before you pick a plan.
- You want both trigger types with the day’s context attached: Stockplus, ours, at $3.99 a month with three alerts free.
- You want to be told your portfolio has drifted, not that a stock moved: Guardfolio.
- You live at a desk and want the richest rules available: StockAlert.pro, accepting that nothing reaches your phone.
- You want alerts on filings rather than on price: see the best congress stock tracker apps, where the trigger is a disclosure rather than a number.
Research subscriptions are a separate purchase and a poor way to buy alerting. If you already read the analysis, the alerts are a fine bonus; if you do not, see Stockplus vs Seeking Alpha and Stockplus vs Simply Wall St for what you would be paying for instead. If your holdings span brokers and crypto, Delta alternatives covers the portfolio-first end of the same question.
Whichever you pick, the setup matters more than the app. How to set stock price alerts you will actually act on covers choosing the trigger type and the threshold, and why alerts fail when your app is closed explains why the server-side column above is the one that decides whether an alert arrives at all.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best stock alert app?
It depends on whether your alert is a number or a rule. For a plain price threshold on a well-known ticker, Yahoo Finance is free on iOS and Android and covers effectively everything. For a rule such as an RSI limit or a moving-average cross, Stock Alarm is the only app we checked that can express it, and it delivers by push, phone call, SMS or email. For both absolute and percent-change triggers with the day's market context attached, Stockplus (our app) is $3.99 a month with three alerts free.
What is the best free stock alert app?
Yahoo Finance, for breadth: it is free on both stores, covers nearly every listed company and includes custom price triggers. Be aware that its plans page prints no $0 tier and no free feature list, so the free limits are not published anywhere we could read. Stockplus includes 3 live price alerts and 1 keyword alert on its free plan, with the limit stated. StockAlert.pro publishes the clearest free tier of all, $0 a month with up to 5 active alerts and unlimited email, but it is a web service with no phone app.
Which app has percent-change alerts, not just price alerts?
Of the six products checked on 27 August 2026, only Stock Alarm and StockAlert.pro state a percent-change trigger in the vendor's own words, and Stockplus supports both absolute and percent-change triggers. Yahoo Finance describes 'custom price triggers' and never mentions percent change, so we have recorded it as not stated rather than as absent. Guardfolio uses percentage thresholds for allocation drift rather than for price. Check this explicitly before subscribing, because most vendors describe both trigger types as simply 'alerts'.
Do stock alert apps cost less on the website than in the app?
Sometimes, and by more than you would expect. Yahoo Finance Gold is $39.95 a month on finance.yahoo.com and $49.95 as an in-app purchase. Stocktwits Edge is $22.95 a month on stocktwits.com and $29.99 in the App Store, which also carries a $399.99 lifetime purchase with no equivalent on the web. Stock Alarm's App Store listing still sells Bronze and Silver tiers that its website says are no longer part of public pricing. Opening a browser before you tap subscribe is worth doing.
Do stock alerts work when the app is closed?
Only if the check runs on the vendor's server rather than on your phone. A server-side check delivered as a push notification works whether or not the app is open; a check evaluated on-device depends on background execution the operating system is free to suspend, which is the usual reason an alert arrives hours late. Stockplus evaluates alerts server-side on a one-minute cycle. Browser push, which is all StockAlert.pro offers, only fires while a browser is running.
Can I get stock alerts without a brokerage account?
Yes. Every product in this comparison is a tracking, monitoring or research tool rather than a broker, so alerts work without linking a brokerage account and without funding anything.
Are stock alerts investment advice?
No. An alert reports that a threshold you chose was crossed. It carries no view on whether to buy or sell, and nothing in this comparison is investment advice.
Related
Ordered by how much each page shares with this one, not by importance.
- GuideThe best portfolio tracker apps in 2026
- GuideHow to set stock price alerts that you will actually act on
- FeatureStock alerts
- GuideWhy stock price alerts fail when your app is closed
- GuideThe 7 best congress stock tracker apps in 2026
- AlternativesStockAlert.pro alternatives
- ComparisonStockplus vs Stock Alarm
- AlternativesStock Analysis alternatives
- TopicCongress stock trades
- FeatureInsider trading tracker
- ComparisonStockplus vs StockAlert.pro
- ComparisonStockplus vs Finviz
Try it before you decide.
Free to start, no card required. One AI briefing each morning, a live watchlist, and alerts that actually matter.